We are shaped by our history.

I have to admit, I was a little nervous.  I didn’t know what to expect from my Mom.  I didn’t know what to expect from me.

My Mom around 1985 - the same age as I am now

As it happens, she is a guitar cigar smoking, Glenn Beck watching, American flag waving, Tea Party loving ultra-conservative who believes the world is going to end with the Mayan calendar. And I’m not.  This fruit has fallen far, far away from the tree.

After several tries she found the love of her life about twenty-five years ago and lost him last Easter.

As I listened to her talk about her memories, which are so very, very different from mine, it became clear to me that I was fine and perfect and happy and ready to take on the rest of my life.  I was in good shape.

It was a good visit for both of us.

Yummy Orange Moose

We had pork chops for lunch.  Dessert was Orange Moose Mousse – a wonderful concoction reminiscent of Mad Men dinner parties circa 1962.  I can see it sitting proudly next to the Seven-Layer Salad.  I’ll provide the recipe tomorrow.

