Early August 2010:

Maybe writing it all down for the universe to read isn’t such a good idea. I have a problem with over-sharing. I spill way too many beans.  Reveal too much.  Anyone who stumbles upon this will hear all about my recent colonoscopy*, the contents of my fridge, bullying friends I’d rather forget and stories from my days as an artist’s model (yes, an ‘undraped’ model).  All one has to do is ask and I’m ready to talk.

Unless, of course, you’re asking me about something close to my heart.  Then I go on lock down.  In my last post I blithely mentioned some “fear and insecurity” and wrote confidently of overcoming it.  Confidence?  Not so much.  Ask me the innocent question “Are you excited about your trip?” and I’m likely to snap.  Go figure.

17 August 2010:

And now here I am, on the first half of the journey.  I’m at Land of Medicine Buddha spending two weeks studying Yin Yoga with Paul and Suzee Grilley and thirty fellow students. (Read all about it at www.practicallytwisted.wordpress.com.)

We’re only three days in but so far it’s been terrific in that up-and-down-roller-coaster-what-the-heck-are-you-doing-to-my-belief-system-sort-of-way.

When I was preparing for the trip, I counted on full days of yoga but then I assumed I’d spend the rest of my time working on my manuscript.  Of course I’d be able to juggle what brings the most heart and meaning to my life.  Why shouldn’t I be able to devote eight hours a day to intensive yogic study and then follow it up with an hour or two of digging deep into the motivations of my protagonist.

Seems easy enough.

Uh.  Well. That’s not going to happen.  The remaining time at LMB is about yoga, yoga, yoga.  Distraction isn’t an option.  It feels weird to turn off the ‘writing’ side of my brain and I can’t tell you why posting a blog is different from working on a manuscript except that it is.  I guess it’s immediate.  An opportunity to vent and share.  And so the posts will probably continue but any thoughts I had about laying down the foundation for the next Great American Novel…well…that’s just going to have to wait.

 

*If you’re fifty or older, schedule one.  The day-before-prep is icky but the day-of-drugs are great.  You won’t remember a thing and you’ll feel like your ol’ self in a few hours.

