“That’s a terrific idea, Mimm.”

I remember the day I read the synopsis to my critique group. I hadn’t really intended on writing a book. I was more interested in writing for magazines. But I had responded to a challenge from our fearless leader, Terry Galanoy, to write a 200-word “blurb” for a real or imagined project.

I wrote about a woman I knew, Margaret Taylor. I was teaching her yoga, and she was teaching me about history.

During WWII she was a WASP – one of 1200 Women Airforce Service Pilots. She ferried military aircraft stateside in order to free male pilots for the air battlefields of Europe and the Pacific.

I was captivated by her story and encouraged by my critique group’s response. As I began to dig deeper into the history, Maggie’s story began to come alive.

